You are here

Back to top

A Conversation with Kristin Harmel

THE BOOK OF LOST NAMES cover are CTJ logo event details

We are thrilled to be hosting Author Kristin Harmel in partnership with Congregation Tikvat Jacob in Manhattan Beach. Kristin will be in conversation with You & Me & Us author Alison Hammer, who also has a historical novel that has just been published.

About The Book of Lost Names: Inspired by an astonishing true story from World War II, a young woman with a talent for forgery helps hundreds of Jewish children flee the Nazis in unforgettable historical novel. There is lots to discuss and even more to learn from this talented author.

Kristin Harmel is the New York Times bestselling author of a dozen novels including The Book of Lost NamesThe Winemaker's WifeThe Room on Rue Amélie, and The Sweetness of Forgetting. Her work has been featured in PeopleWoman's DayMen's Health, and Ladies' Home Journal, among many other media outlets. She lives in Orlando, Florida.

Alison Hammer is the founder of Every Damn Day Writers. She has been spinning words to tell stories since she learned how to talk. A graduate of the University of Florida and the Creative Circus in Atlanta, she lived in nine cities before settling down in Chicago, where she works as a VP creative director at an advertising agency. You & Me & Us is her first novel.

Register here.

 

Event Date: 
Tuesday, August 18, 2020 - 5:00pm
Address: 
Manhattan Beach, CA 90266
Books: 
The Book of Lost Names Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781982131890
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Gallery Books - July 21st, 2020

Inspired by an astonishing true story from World War II, a young woman with a talent for forgery helps hundreds of Jewish children flee the Nazis in this unforgettable historical novel from the New York Times bestselling author of the "epic and heart-wrenching World War II tale" (Alyson Noel, #1 New York Times bestselling author) The Winemaker's Wife.

 

Eva Traube Abrams, a semi-retired librarian in Florida, is shelving books one morning when her eyes lock on a photograph in a magazine lying open nearby. She freezes; it's an image of a book she hasn't seen in sixty-five years--a book she recognizes as The Book of Lost Names.

 

The accompanying article discusses the looting of libraries by the Nazis across Europe during World War II--an experience Eva remembers well--and the search to reunite people with the texts taken from them so long ago. The book in the photograph, an eighteenth-century religious text thought to have been taken from France in the waning days of the war, is one of the most fascinating cases. Now housed in Berlin's Zentral- und Landesbibliothek library, it appears to contain some sort of code, but researchers don't know where it came from--or what the code means. Only Eva holds the answer--but will she have the strength to revisit old memories and help reunite those lost during the war?

 

As a graduate student in 1942, Eva was forced to flee Paris after the arrest of her father, a Polish Jew. Finding refuge in a small mountain town in the Free Zone, she begins forging identity documents for Jewish children fleeing to neutral Switzerland. But erasing people comes with a price, and along with a mysterious, handsome forger named Rémy, Eva decides she must find a way to preserve the real names of the children who are too young to remember who they really are. The records they keep in The Book of Lost Names will become even more vital when the resistance cell they work for is betrayed and Rémy disappears.

 

An engaging and evocative novel reminiscent of The Lost Girls of Paris and The Alice NetworkThe Book of Lost Names is a testament to the resilience of the human spirit and the power of bravery and love in the face of evil.


You and Me and Us: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780062993861
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: William Morrow - April 7th, 2020

"Hammer is an expert at both tugging heartstrings and keeping the reader utterly immersed in a world of hope and heartbreak. A great new voice in women's fiction."-- Kristin Harmel, #1 international bestselling author of The Winemaker's Wife

The heartbreaking, yet hopeful, story of a mother and daughter struggling to be a family without the one person who holds them together--a perfect summer read for fans of Jojo Moyes and Marisa de los Santos.

Alexis Gold knows how to put the "work" in working mom. It's the "mom" part that she's been struggling with lately. Since opening her own advertising agency three years ago, Alexis has all but given up on finding a good work/life balance. Instead, she's handed over the household reins to her supportive, loving partner, Tommy. While he's quick to say they divide and conquer, Alexis knows that Tommy does most of the heavy lifting--especially when it comes to their teenage daughter, CeCe.

Their world changes in an instant when Tommy receives a terminal cancer diagnosis, and Alexis realizes everything she's worked relentlessly for doesn't matter without him. So Alexis does what Tommy has done for her almost every day since they were twelve-year-old kids in Destin, Florida--she puts him first. And when the only thing Tommy wants is to spend one last summer together at "their" beach, she puts her career on hold to make it happen...even if it means putting her family within striking distance of Tommy's ex, an actress CeCe idolizes.

But Alexis and Tommy aren't the only ones whose lives have been turned inside out. In addition to dealing with the normal ups and downs that come with being a teenager, CeCe is also forced to confront her feelings about Tommy's illness--and what will happen when the one person who's always been there for her is gone. When the magic of first love brings a bright spot to her summer, CeCe is determined not to let her mother ruin that for her, too.

As CeCe's behavior becomes more rebellious, Alexis realizes the only thing harder for her than losing Tommy will be convincing CeCe to give her one more chance.