You are here

Back to top

Creating Conversations Book Club ~ Miracle Creek Discussion w/Author Angie Kim

Creating Conversations Book Club hosts its inaugural meeting to discuss Miracle Creek with the novel's author, Angie Kim. A book signing and light refreshments will follow. 

*CC Book Club members receive 20% off in-store book club selections. E-books & audiobooks are available for purchase and downloaded via Creating Conversation's website.

Please email book club organizer Liz Donatelli at liz@creatingconversations.org with any questions.

 

Event Date: 
Thursday, May 9, 2019 - 7:00pm
Address: 
2850 Artesia Blvd.
#101
Redondo Beach, CA 90278
Books: 
Miracle Creek: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780374156022
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Sarah Crichton Books - April 16th, 2019

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng about how far we'll go to protect our families--and our deepest secrets

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie. He probably didn't even consider it a lie, and neither did I, at first . . .

In rural Virginia, Young and Pak Yoo run an experimental medical treatment device known as the Miracle Submarine--a pressurized oxygen chamber that patients enter for therapeutic "dives" with the hopes of curing issues like autism or infertility. But when the Miracle Submarine mysteriously explodes, killing two people, a dramatic murder trial upends the Yoos' small community.

Who or what caused the explosion? Was it the mother of one of the patients, who claimed to be sick that day but was smoking down by the creek? Or was it Young and Pak themselves, hoping to cash in on a big insurance payment and send their daughter to college? The ensuing trial uncovers unimaginable secrets from that night--trysts in the woods, mysterious notes, child-abuse charges--as well as tense rivalries and alliances among a group of people driven to extraordinary degrees of desperation and sacrifice.

Angie Kim's Miracle Creek is a thoroughly contemporary take on the courtroom drama, drawing on the author's own life as a Korean immigrant, former trial lawyer, and mother of a real-life "submarine" patient. Both a compelling page-turner and an excavation of identity and the desire for connection, Miracle Creek is a brilliant, empathetic debut from an exciting new voice.