You are here

Back to top

Girlfriends Gabbing: Annabelle Gurwitch in conversation with Lian Dolan

YOU'RE LEAVING WHEN book cover Annabelle Gurwitch author photo 040821 event details

 

Don't miss the chance to join Annabelle Gurwitch in conversation with Lian Dolan, discussing You're Leaving When? Adventures in Downward Mobility.
Actress, activist, and author Annabelle's collection of essays are meditations on issues including changing norms [pre-pandemic] and her experience of the world.
Annabelle and girlfriend Lian Dolan will discuss a variety of topics sure to resonate with many readers, in an event that echoes the spirit of the book.

Creating Conversations will have a limited quantity of signed first editions of You're Leaving When? Adventures in Downward Mobility available
-- call the store to order one of our in-stock copies! 310.542.6000

From Library Journal:

"New York Times best-selling author Gurwitch (I See You Made an Effort) is back with a coming-of-a-certain-age memoir about what it means to be part of the American middle class in steady decline. Home sharing with people experiencing homelessness, dating while gray, boomerang parenting, caring for aging parents, and eco-anxiety are just a few of the topics covered in this hilarious and honest collection of essays. Gurwitch’s perspective on both the major and the mundane will be relatable to anyone who understands how the American Dream has devolved into a fever dream. From parenting during the age of COVID-19 and Zoom meetings to living with anxiety to running out of gas on the way to celebrate family milestones, her stories are as personal as they are universal. The author is at her best when including a series of unsent letters to various people, including girlfriends, relatives, and even her mortgage company.

VERDICT: The latest from Gurwitch will have readers rolling with laughter one minute and picking up the phone to commiserate with friends or family the next. The author is a delightful eccentric aunt-to-all with her wit, caring, and unbeknown-to-her wisdom. For fans of Nora Ephron and Sloane Crosely alike."

And Maryelizabeth notes, "Another stellar collection from Annabelle, whose gift is making all the situations she discusses feel relatable to her audience, whether we have experienced them ourselves or not."

Annabelle Gurwitch is an actress, activist, and New York Times bestselling author of I See You Made an Effort (a Thurber Prize finalist). Other books: Wherever You Go, There They AreYou Say Tomato, I Say Shut Up (with Jeff Kahn); and Fired! (also a Showtime Comedy Special). She’s written for The New YorkerThe New York TimesLos Angeles TimesThe Oprah MagazineThe Wall Street Journal, and Hadassah Magazine amongst other publications and is currently adapting You're Leaving When? for HBO with Bill Maher executive producing, centering on her Los Angeles Times op-ed about hosting an at-risk housing insecure couple in her home which was recognized with a 2020 Los Angeles Press Club excellence in journalism award. Gurwitch was the longtime co-host of Dinner & a Movie on TBS; a regular commentator on NPR; host of WA$TED for the Discovery Channel, the news anchor of HBO’s award-winning Not Necessarily the News, and a resident humorist for TheNation.com. Her acting credits include: Seinfeld, Murphy Brown, Boston Legal, Dexter, and Melvin Goes to Dinner. She performs on the Moth Mainstage, Carolines on Broadway, and at arts centers around the country. Gurwitch thought she'd be empty nesting by now; instead, she lives with her cat and child—a college graduate of the COVID class of 2020. She co-hosts the Tiny Victories podcast on the Maximum Fun Podcast Network, which Vulture called a “bright spot of light and laughter in 2020.”

Lian Dolan is a writer and broadcaster, whose name is pronounced like “Liam” but with an “n.”  She is the creator and host of “Satellite Sisters”, the award-winning and top-rated radio talk show she produces with her four real sisters: Julie, Liz, Sheila, and Monica. She also created the popular podcast about modern motherhood, “The Chaos Chronicles”, developed by Nick at Nite for TV. Lian is the author of two Los Angeles Times best-selling novels, Helen of Pasadena and Elizabeth the First Wife, and a regular columnist for Pasadena Magazine. A graduate of Pomona College in Claremont, she now lives in Pasadena, California with her husband and two sons

Register in advance --after registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the meeting.

Event Date: 
Thursday, April 8, 2021 - 7:00pm
Address: 
on-line
Redondo Beach, CA 90278
Books: 
You're Leaving When?: Adventures in Downward Mobility Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781640094475
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Counterpoint - March 2nd, 2021

From the New York Times bestselling author of I See You Made an Effort comes a timely and hilarious chronicle of downward mobility, financial and emotional.

With signature "sharp wit" (NPR), Annabelle Gurwitch gives irreverent and empathetic voice to a generation hurtling into their next chapter with no safety net and proves that our no-frills new normal doesn't mean a deficit of humor.

In these essays, Gurwitch embraces homesharing, welcoming a housing-insecure young couple and a bunny rabbit into her home. The mother of a college student in recovery who sheds the gender binary, she relearns to parent, one pronoun at a time. She wades into the dating pool in a Miss Havisham-inspired line of lingerie and flunks the magic of tidying up.

You're Leaving When? is for anybody who thought they had a semblance of security but wound up with a fragile economy and a blankie. Gurwitch offers stories of resilience, adaptability, low-rent redemption, and the kindness of strangers. Even in a muted Zoom.


The Sweeney Sisters: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062909053
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - April 6th, 2021

Just out in paperback!

 

An accomplished storyteller returns with her biggest, boldest, most entertaining novel yet—a hilarious, heartfelt story about books, love, sisterhood, and the surprises we discover in our DNA that combines the wit of Jonathan Tropper with the heart of Susan Wiggs.

Maggie, Eliza, and Tricia Sweeney grew up as a happy threesome in the idyllic seaside town of Southport, Connecticut. But their mother’s death from cancer fifteen years ago tarnished their golden-hued memories, and the sisters drifted apart. Their one touchstone is their father, Bill Sweeney, an internationally famous literary lion and college professor universally adored by critics, publishers, and book lovers. When Bill dies unexpectedly one cool June night, his shell-shocked daughters return to their childhood home. They aren’t quite sure what the future holds without their larger-than-life father, but they do know how to throw an Irish wake to honor a man of his stature.

But as guests pay their respects and reminisce, one stranger, emboldened by whiskey, has crashed the party. It turns out that she too is a Sweeney sister.

When Washington, DC based journalist Serena Tucker had her DNA tested on a whim a few weeks earlier, she learned she had a 50% genetic match with a childhood neighbor—Maggie Sweeney of Southport, Connecticut. It seems Serena’s chilly WASP mother, Birdie, had a history with Bill Sweeney—one that has remained totally secret until now.

Once the shock wears off, questions abound. What does this mean for William’s literary legacy? Where is the unfinished memoir he’s stashed away, and what will it reveal? And how will a fourth Sweeney sister—a blond among redheads—fit into their story?

By turns revealing, insightful, and uproarious, The Sweeney Sisters is equal parts cautionary tale and celebration—a festive and heartfelt look at what truly makes a family.