You are here

Back to top

Creating Conversations with Natasha Lester and Major General Mari K. Eder

Cover art for THE RIVIERA HOUSE and THE GIRLS WHO STEPPED OUT OF LINE Lester and Eger in conversation September 2 event details

Join Creating Conversations as Natasha Lester (The Riviera House) and Retired US Army Major General Mari K. Eder (The Girls Who Stepped Out of Line) take a look at contributions from the Greatest Generation of women made, through both a non-fiction and a fiction lens. The Riviera House is a lush and engrossing novel of one woman’s quest to keep Nazis from stealing priceless art during WWII, perfect for fans of The Rose Code. For fans of Radium Girls and history and WWII buffs, The Girls Who Stepped Out of Line takes you inside the lives and experiences of 15 unknown women heroes from the Greatest Generation, the women who served, fought, struggled, and made things happen during WWII--in and out of uniform, for theirs is a legacy destined to embolden generations of women to come.

Natasha Lester is the New York Times bestselling author of The Paris SeamstressThe Paris Orphan and The Paris Secret, and a former marketing executive for L’Oreal. When she’s not writing, she loves collecting vintage fashion (Dior is a favorite!), practicing the art of fashion illustration, learning about fashion history–and traveling to Paris! Natasha lives with her husband and three children in Perth, Western Australia.

Mari K. Eder is a retired U.S. Army Major General, a renowned speaker and author, and a thought leader on strategic communication and leadership. General Eder is the former Commanding General of the U.S. Army Reserve Joint and Special Troops Support Command, former Deputy Chief of the Army Reserve and former Deputy Chief of Public Affairs for the U.S. Army. General Eder is the author of "Leading the Narrative: The Case for Strategic Communication," published by the Naval Institute Press.

Event Date: 
Thursday, September 2, 2021 - 6:00pm
Address: 
on-line
CA 90278
Books: 
The Riviera House Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781538717318
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Forever - August 31st, 2021

Paris, 1939: The Nazis think Éliane can't understand German. They’re wrong. They think she’s merely cataloging art in a Louvre museum and unaware they’re stealing national treasures for their private collections. They have no idea she’s carefully decoding their notes and smuggling information to the Resistance. But Éliane is playing a dangerous game. Does she dare trust the man she once loved with her secrets, or will he only betray her once again? She has no way to know for certain . . . until a trip to a stunning home on the French Riviera brings a whole new level of peril.
 
Present Day: Wanting to forget the tragedy that has left her life in shambles, Remy Lang heads to a home she’s mysteriously inherited on the Riviera. While working on her vintage fashion business, she discovers a catalog of the artworks stolen during World War II and is shocked to see a painting that hung on her childhood bedroom wall. Who is her family, really? And does the Riviera house hold more secrets than Remy is ready to face?

A limited supply of custom bookplates are available to readers who preorder The Riviera House through Creating Conversations.

 


The Girls Who Stepped Out of Line: Untold Stories of the Women Who Changed the Course of World War II Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781728230924
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Sourcebooks - August 3rd, 2021

The Girls Who Stepped Out of Line are the heroes of the Greatest Generation that you hardly ever hear about. These women who did extraordinary things didn't expect thanks and shied away from medals and recognition. Despite their amazing accomplishments, they've gone mostly unheralded and unrewarded. No longer. These are the women of World War II who served, fought, struggled, and made things happen--in and out of uniform.

Liane B. Russell fled Austria with nothing and later became a renowned U.S. scientist whose research on the effects of radiation on embryos made a difference to thousands of lives. Gena Turgel was a prisoner who worked in the hospital at Bergen-Belsen and cared for the young Anne Frank, who was dying of typhus. Gena survived and went on to write a memoir and spent her life educating children about the Holocaust. Ida and Louise Cook were British sisters who repeatedly smuggled out jewelry and furs and served as sponsors for refugees, and they also established temporary housing for immigrant families in London.