You are here

Back to top

Soroptimist of Capistrano Bay Virtual Authors Brunch

Deb Spera Liam Dolan Julie Clark Soroptimist International of Capistrano Bay Author Brunch event details

 

Soroptimist of Capistrano Bay presents their 8th Annual Authors Brunch. Proceeds will fund the organization's  Dream Programs. This is a unique education grant for women who provide the primary financial support for their families. Live Your Dream Awards give women the resources they need to improve their education, skills, and employment prospects.This event will include listening to three amazing authors explain their journey of writing.

Deb Spera was born in Louisville, Kentucky, and lives in Los Angeles. She owns her own television company, One-Two Punch Productions, and has executive produced such shows as Criminal Minds and Army Wives. Her work's been published in Sixfold, Garden and Gun, and Yoga Journal. Call Your Daughter Home is her first novel.

Born and raised in Santa Monica, California, Julie Clark grew up reading books on the beach while everyone else surfed. After attending college at University of the Pacific, she returned home to Santa Monica to teach. She now lives there with her two young sons and a golden doodle with poor impulse control. Her debut novel, The Ones We Choose, was published in 2018, and has been optioned for television by Lionsgate.

Lian Dolan is a writer and broadcaster, whose name is pronounced like “Liam” but with an “n.” She is the creator and host of “Satellite Sisters”, the award-winning and top-rated radio talk show she produces with her four real sisters: Julie, Liz, Sheila, and Monica. She also created the popular podcast about modern motherhood, “The Chaos Chronicles”, developed by Nick at Nite for TV. Lian is the author of two Los Angeles Times best-selling novels, Helen of Pasadena and Elizabeth the First Wife, and a regular columnist for Pasadena Magazine. A graduate of Pomona College in Claremont, she now lives in Pasadena, California with her husband and two sons

Soroptimist International is a global volunteer organization working to improve the lives of women and girls through programs leading to social and economic empowerment.

Purchase your ticket to the event here.

 

 

 

 

Event Date: 
Saturday, November 7, 2020 - 12:00pm
Address: 
San Clements, CA 92674
Books: 
Call Your Daughter Home Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780778309796
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Park Row - April 7th, 2020

Featured on Oprah's Summer Reading List

 

For readers of Delia Owens' Where the Crawdads Sing and Sue Monk Kidd's The Secret Life of Bees , this extraordinary historical debut novel follows three fierce Southern women in an unforgettable story of motherhood and womanhood.

 

It's 1924 in Branchville, South Carolina and three women have come to a crossroads. Gertrude, a mother of four, must make an unconscionable decision to save her daughters. Retta, a first-generation freed slave, comes to Gertrude's aid by watching her children, despite the gossip it causes in her community. Annie, the matriarch of the influential Coles family, offers Gertrude employment at her sewing circle, while facing problems of her own at home.

 

These three women seemingly have nothing in common, yet as they unite to stand up to injustices that have long plagued the small town, they find strength in the bond that ties women together. Told in the pitch-perfect voices of Gertrude, Retta, and Annie, Call Your Daughter Home is an emotional, timeless story about the power of family, community, and ferocity of motherhood.


Call Your Daughter Home Cover Image
Not Available
ISBN: 9780778307747
Availability: Hard to Find - Unlikely to be Available
Published: Park Row - June 11th, 2019

Limited quantities available in-store. Call 310.542.6000 to order from a Creating Conversations bookseller.


The Last Flight Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781728215723
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Sourcebooks Landmark - June 23rd, 2020

Signed first editions available while limited quantities last.

Two women. Two flights. One last chance to disappear.

Claire Cook has a perfect life. Married to the scion of a political dynasty, with a Manhattan townhouse and a staff of ten, her surroundings are elegant, her days flawlessly choreographed, and her future auspicious. But behind closed doors, nothing is quite as it seems. That perfect husband has a temper that burns as bright as his promising political career, and he's not above using his staff to track Claire's every move, making sure she's living up to his impossible standards. But what he doesn't know is that Claire has worked for months on a plan to vanish.

A chance meeting in an airport bar brings her together with a woman whose circumstances seem equally dire. Together they make a last-minute decision to switch tickets--Claire taking Eva's flight to Oakland, and Eva traveling to Puerto Rico as Claire. They believe the swap will give each of them the head start they need to begin again somewhere far away. But when the flight to Puerto Rico goes down, Claire realizes it's no longer a head start but a new life. Cut off, out of options, with the news of her death about to explode in the media, Claire will assume Eva's identity, and along with it, the secrets Eva fought so hard to keep hidden.

For fans of Lisa Jewell and Liv Constantine, The Last Flight is the story of two women--both alone, both scared--and one agonizing decision that will change the trajectory of both of their lives.

 


The Ones We Choose Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781501184475
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Gallery Books - May 8th, 2018

The Sweeney Sisters: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780062909046
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: William Morrow - April 28th, 2020

An accomplished storyteller returns with her biggest, boldest, most entertaining novel yet--a hilarious, heartfelt story about books, love, sisterhood, and the surprises we discover in our DNA that combines the wit of Jonathan Tropper with the heart of Susan Wiggs.

Maggie, Eliza, and Tricia Sweeney grew up as a happy threesome in the idyllic seaside town of Southport, Connecticut. But their mother's death from cancer fifteen years ago tarnished their golden-hued memories, and the sisters drifted apart. Their one touchstone is their father, Bill Sweeney, an internationally famous literary lion and college professor universally adored by critics, publishers, and book lovers. When Bill dies unexpectedly one cool June night, his shell-shocked daughters return to their childhood home. They aren't quite sure what the future holds without their larger-than-life father, but they do know how to throw an Irish wake to honor a man of his stature.

But as guests pay their respects and reminisce, one stranger, emboldened by whiskey, has crashed the party. It turns out that she too is a Sweeney sister.

When Washington, DC based journalist Serena Tucker had her DNA tested on a whim a few weeks earlier, she learned she had a 50% genetic match with a childhood neighbor--Maggie Sweeney of Southport, Connecticut. It seems Serena's chilly WASP mother, Birdie, had a history with Bill Sweeney--one that has remained totally secret until now.

Once the shock wears off, questions abound. What does this mean for William's literary legacy? Where is the unfinished memoir he's stashed away, and what will it reveal? And how will a fourth Sweeney sister--a blond among redheads--fit into their story?


Elizabeth the First Wife Cover Image
Not Available
ISBN: 9781938849053
Availability: Special Order - Subject to Availability
Published: Prospect Park Books LLC - Prospect Park Books - May 7th, 2013

Helen of Pasadena Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780984410224
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Prospect Park Books LLC - Prospect Park Books - October 15th, 2010